doctorfoodtruth

All We Need is Just a Little Patience…

In Diet and Weight, Family Doctor, Mindful Eating, Mindless Eating on February 2, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Izzy Stradlin from Guns N' Roses

Do I date myself with the Guns N’ Roses reference?

I’m having a recurring theme come up in my conversations this week.  Plenty of folks had lost weight last summer, maybe to quiet their nagging doctor?  I’m starting to see them back for routine or urgent problems and I often notice the scale creeping back up.

I try to help people find the line between shrugging it off and beating themselves up over it, but that can be hard.  What I want people to know are just a couple of simple things.  I think these 3 thoughts should be kept in mind by anyone trying to change their diet or lose weight.

1) Realize the time it takes.  We live in the fastest paced culture around.  Drive-thrus, microwaves and the MinuteClinic make patience and perspective hard to remember.  What I continually remind my patients is that the weight didn’t come on overnight so it can’t come off overnight either.  Whenever you read an ad for a quick solution to health or weight, RUN!  They’re either flat-out lying to you or peddling something harmful.  Nature doesn’t do anything rapidly and trying to force your body into rapid weight loss will backfire, I promise.

Instead, be patient with yourself and your body.  The little choices every day add up, so keep making good little choices and you’ll be amazed where you can end up!

2) Water first.  I go over this topic in detail in Food Truths, Food Lies, but in a nutshell: Your body can’t tell thirst from hunger.  So what does this mean?  Drink water before eating anything, ever.  A cold glass of water and 5 minutes may completely fix any craving you’re having.  Even if it doesn’t, the water will help decrease the amount of food it takes to be satisfied.  Drink up!

3) Think before you eat.  This ties right into #2.  Eating without thinking is probably America’s biggest “bigness” problem.   Snacks and convenience foods are way too convenient.  A recent study showed we eat an average of over 550 calories per day more than Americans did 40 years ago.  Do the math: this is plenty to explain our weight problem.  Think before it goes into your mouth and pare back those needless calories that won’t even be enjoyed.   After all, how can it taste good if I eat without even realizing it?

Most of all, be kind and patient with yourself while making health changes.  All you have to do is make healthy choices today.  Keep it up and it will become a habit.  Keep healthy habits and your body will thank you for it.  I promise!

Eat Healthfully, Live Fully Healthy!

  1. […] All We Need is Just a Little Patience… (doctorfoodtruth.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Great advice…I’m going to take it…I’ve struggled with my weight off and on my entire life…I’m going to make those small changes and allow myself the time to adapt…

  3. Good for you Run4! Our bodies don’t do ‘quick’ very well, being gentle and patient is defintely the way to go.

Join the Conversation!

