doctorfoodtruth

Pruning Season

In Family Doctor, Mindful Eating on November 7, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Pruning shears.

I’ve got a scraggly tree I planted a few years ago that desperately needs pruning. A house down the street has beautiful 30-year-old maples in the front yard that look like somebody took good care of them when they were young trees like mine. It’s an inspiration.

I think I can do this – I’ve never done it before, but I think I can do this and make it look good for the future. Of course, I don’t know that I’ll be in this house or even around to see my work thirty years from now, but building for the future is important.

I realize that a lot of what I do at the office is building for the future too. Someone’s cholesterol I try to help with nutritional counseling and a prescription isn’t going to affect this person today or tomorrow or next week. It’s going to have an impact 10, 20, even 50 years from now and it’s the future we’re working for together.

The weight that I’m helping someone else come to grips with, it’s not really affecting them too much right now. Maybe it slows them down a little, maybe it makes their knees hurt a little more than they should, but again it’s really the future we’re worrying about when a patient and I agree to work on health goals together.

That’s one of the things I most want to communicate to my patients too. This is about the future, their future. It’s about how their day-to-day life is going to be decades from now. The choices they make today are absolutely what’s going to decide how they feel, how they function, how they live, whether they live.

So I’ll keep pruning here, fertilizing there, maybe giving out a little butt-kickin’ here or there where it’s needed, knowing this is the future that I’m helping my patients build. It couldn’t be more important.

Eat Healthfully, Live Fully Healthy!

Join the Conversation!

