doctorfoodtruth

Food on a Bus

In Food and Health, Junk Food, Organic Food on August 29, 2011 at 11:52 am
Apple photo on doctorfoodtruth

I Tweeted about this last week but have been thinking about and discussing it since: Fresh Moves.  Know about it? Steve Casey, a big-hearted entrepreneur in Chicago, started Fresh Moves in 2006.

According to their website, Fresh Moves was founded in 2006 after Mr. Casey and Mr. Jeff Pinzino became aware that much of their city had been designated a ‘food desert.’  From their About page: “In the city of Chicago,… entire communities have severely limited access to fresh fruits and veggies, and therefore suffer from significant health issues related to poor diets.”

This realization was the start of something unique and powerful.  Today, their converted bus roves the streets of south side Chicago, offering organic produce to people who have literally no access to fresh vegetables and fruits.

I learned about Mr. Casey’s efforts from a blog I follow, healthbreaksloose.  A post from early August related a story of a 14-year-old boy tasting his first apple.

An apple!  At age 14… that breaks my heart.  I love apples and keep them at the office and at home for a quick, satisfying snack.  I’ve occasionally let them go bad from neglect and reluctantly thrown them away.  Hearing that a teenager less than 3 hours up the road from me had never even tasted an apple?  Gives a guy pause, you know?

What kind of economy have we made for ourselves when soda pop and McDonald’s are everywhere but eating a simple apple requires a hero in a bus to deliver?  Wow.  America, we have a problem.

  1. Its interesting. When I was growing up there we didn’t have food deserts. I finally sound like my grandma. These young people don’t want to cook. I know several stores that closed because low sales. Cook and they will come. You will find plenty of McDonalds and liquor stores. I’m just sayin:)

  2. I agree, I could not believe it when he told me that – about the apple, I mean. Something we take for granted as basic – fresh fruit – remains a luxury for many people, and that is just pathetic. Thanks for blogging about this!

  3. […] a recent post Food on a Bus, I celebrated an amazing project underway in Chicago to bring organic produce to poor […]

Join the Conversation!

