doctorfoodtruth

It’s Hard to Admit this But…

In Family Doctor, Food and Health on August 1, 2011 at 12:23 pm
Blueberry on doctorfoodtruth

Michigan rocks!  As a Buckeye fan by marriage, Michigan doesn’t have a good name in our house. (Random college sports crap, skip ahead.)

After this week enjoying the northern portion of the LP, both Dr. Mary and I both have to admit that Michigan rocks.  The Leelanau Peninsula and the M-22 road around it are personal favorites.  We loved the amazing restaurants in Traverse City too (as did Bon Appetit according to the brag pages we saw around.)

One of the very best things about summer in Michigan is the roadside stands with cherries and blueberries.  I ate both until my anti-oxidant-o-meter was on maximum, I think.  Blueberries are widely considered one of the most healthful fruits and according to Michigan’s cherry growers, cherries aren’t far behind!  (Though I haven’t seen that in the science press…)

Anyway, our long-awaited full-week vacation was truly great and leaving was hard, but we made it home just in time for a new EHR system being installed at my office.  EHR means electronic health record and is what every doctor is supposed to use instead of charts in the very near future.  My office is transitioning from a very bad one to a so-so one starting tomorrow!  Any doctors reading this will know I say truly when I say that this is REALLY BAD.

So, my posts may be a little spotty in the next few weeks as I wrestle a new software system into submission (my sixth change in my career, I should be getting quicker at it!)  Please be patient while I get my groove back.

In the meantime, get yourself some Michigan blueberries and cherries while they’re in season – you won’t regret it!

  1. I feel u we just had an update. I dont remember half the stuff. U can do so much more with emr;)

Join the Conversation!

