doctorfoodtruth

Nuts to You

In Food and Health on July 22, 2011 at 12:22 pm
doctorfoodtruth eats Crunchy Peanut Butter by the Spoonful

Crunchy Peanut Butter by the Spoonful

As a doctor who gets after his patients to eat and live better, I field a lot of questions about my own diet.  People want to know what I eat and whether I ‘practice what I preach.’

Since one of the most common diet mistakes people make is skipping breakfast, I try to convince folks to start eating a small, high-protein breakfast.  They always want to know what I have and I’ll bet most of my patients know by now: crunchy peanut butter on a spoon!

I’ve found this is the perfect 200 calorie breakfast that gives me energy without any sugar crash mid-morning. It provides enough chewing to make my brain register that I ate and that I don’t need to be hungry for a while.  If I eat it on toast, I get too much carbohydrate and feel the crash.  If I don’t eat the crunchy, I get hungry in 3 hours or so.  My schedule is pretty set with 6 hours between breakfast and lunch all filled with patient care, so I don’t have time to get something else to eat.

If I do get hungry mid-morning or mid-afternoon, raw almonds (Blue Diamond is my favorite) are my preferred snack.  There is plenty of scientific proof that peanuts and tree nuts are very good for me, filled with anti-oxidants, zero cholesterol and even protective against diabetes (which runs VERY strongly in my family.)  My biggest reason to eat this way is how it makes me feel, though.

Satisfied and un-hungry?  Check.

Alert with brain in gear?  Check.

Able to pass the donuts in the Doctor’s Lounge?  Check.

Keeping your protein intake up and your starch/carbohydrate intake down is essential to feeling alert and ready to go.  Hate the 3 o’clock blahs?  Eat differently for lunch and they won’t happen!  How I feel, how you feel, depends on how we treat our bodies.  What I eat, how well I sleep, how stressed I get, when I last exercised all roll into what most people call ‘feeling good.’  It can just as easily become ‘feeling crummy’ or worse.

It’s all up to you!

Eat Healthfully, Live Fully Healthy!

  1. Or….creamy peanut butter on celery w/raisins. Enticing for the children when offered as “bugs on a boat”.

  2. […] Nuts to You (doctorfoodtruth.wordpress.com) […]

Join the Conversation!

