doctorfoodtruth

Lookin’ Good at 60

In Diet and Weight, Excercise on July 12, 2011 at 12:36 pm

“Wow!”

I’ve known Jay for several years and have watched him go from a tough and  vigorous fifty-something to a not-at-all-vigorous 60.  The change and weight gain happened when he lost his job in the 2009 downturn.  Most men are tied to their work, but Jay was just despondent and really started letting himself go.

He would skip appointments and once went so long between getting medication refills that his insurance company called me, worried.  (Can you believe that?  Strange but true.)  When I would get to see him, I could tell he was fading and his weight was really climbing.  The last time I saw him in January, he was way over 300 pounds and felt terrible.

We had a long talk about the future for his health and he told me would ‘try harder.’  Jay is a man of few words, so I knew that was as good as I could ask for and he really was going to change his diet and get off the couch.

Normally when I get “evangelistic” like that, I have people come back in 1-2 months so I can keep pushing on the life habit changes.  Because of his job loss, he asked me to wait longer for a return visit and I agreed even though it worried me.

Today he was back and I really said “Wow!”  He looks better than I’ve ever seen and told me he feels better than he has in 10

years.  He’s lost over 40 pounds and has muscle showing everywhere.  He found a new job 2 months ago that he says is a “young man’s job” but he is keeping up great and looks like he’ll have something to show off on the beach in another 6 months or so.

I love seeing the physical transformation people can make when they set their mind to it.  His diet has changed radically, he’s working hard and is able to smile and get off the couch again.  All amazing stuff and I get to have a front row seat on it all.  A good day here in Indiana!

Eat Healthfully, Live Fully Healthy!

Join the Conversation!

