doctorfoodtruth

A Convert

In Diet and Weight, Food and Health, Mindful Eating on June 22, 2011 at 12:36 pm
creamy peanut butter on doctorfoodtruth

Mmm, breakfast!

“So, how are you doing it?”

He grinned.  “Well, I’m not saying you were right, but peanut butter does make a heck of a breakfast.”

Excellent!  I really like this guy.  He’s funny, down-to-earth, and brutally honest.  Telling him he had diabetes 6 months ago was hard and he took it pretty rough.  Like many of us, diabetes is “all in the family” and I could almost see the memories coming up for him when I told him he had crossed the line from pre-diabetes to diabetes.

Maybe an uncle that lost a leg? A great-aunt gone blind?  A scary childhood flashback of watching grandma collapse into a ‘sugar coma’?

Whatever his fears, he perked up the moment I told him “You can fix this.”  I had told him that before, but something got through a little deeper this time.  I knew he meant it when he said, “I’m gonna.”

Now here we are, 6 months later.   He has lost over 15 pounds and his sugar is down into the normal range.  I love that moment of realization when my patient knows, really knows, that their health is up to them.  This was the moment for him and he made it a great moment for me, too.

“All I’m doing is what you said.”  He ticked them off on fingers.  “One. Peanut butter on a spoon for breakfast.  Two, I reach for an apple instead of the chips.  Three, I don’t eat white.  Easy.”  Queue the big grins and high fives!

I love it!

He’s changing his food and changing his life!

  1. […] A Convert (doctorfoodtruth.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Ah peanut butter. I don’t eat it anymore(1). I used to consume it almost daily, for decades. Then I heard Dr. Bill Lands mention that peanuts contain 4, 000 milligrams of omega-6 in each 28 gram one ounce serving of peanuts, and one milligram of omega-3(2). Realizing my mistake, I quit eating peanut butter. Two months later my legs stopped aching and I’ve been regaining mobility ever since.

    The omega-6 hazard is not well publicized. I have a Google Alert for “omega-6” and most of the items that come to my attention are supplement ads for omega-3s. Occasionally something good crops up. Massachusetts psychiatrist wrote an excellent article entitled Your Brain on Omega 3(2). Another good article can be accessed if you Google “Omega-6 Me.”

    References
    1. Google Omega-6:Friend or Foe?
    2. Google 1 of 4 Bill Lands
    3. Google Your Brain on Omega-3

    • Thanks for your input, Mr. Brown. I agree with your concern for too many omega-6 fats in the American diet. However, my blog is aimed squarely at the layperson, and not really meant for the nutritionally-informed like you.
      Encouraging a tablespoon of peanut butter for breakfast is meant to help people fight back against their weight and out-of-whack appetite, not balance their omegas. I feel that once someone becomes interested enough in their health to change their diet permanently, that is the time to bring advanced food ideas into the conversation.
      Until that point, my hope is to simply awaken folks to the idea that what they eat is the source of and cure for many of their medical problems. From there, your expertise can take them much farther.

Join the Conversation!

