doctorfoodtruth

Eating for 6

In factory farms, Food and Health, Organic Food on June 15, 2011 at 12:15 pm
photo of Earth on doctorfoodtruth

home

Sorry, not a post on quintuplets! The six I’m talking about is actually six billion. Food and nutrition are important topics to me that I try to make important for my patients too. As I’ve read and thought on nutrition, my attention keeps getting wider, though.

“I am what I eat” is as true as ever. My food and lifestyle choices will absolutely make the future me. I can choose to build and re-build my body with good food or bad, but I can count on being affected by those choices for years to come.

The choices I make aren’t all about me, though. John Donne said “No man is an island.” The more I see of the world, the more true this seems to me. The domino I flick when I choose an item or patronize a restaurant knocks over the next domino, and the next, and the next.

Every time I buy meat, milk, or eggs that are factory-farmed, I am voting with my money for more mistreatment of animals. When I buy fruit picked by migrant workers, I am actively asking these big companies to take advantage of more of my fellow human beings. Choosing bread and cereal made with “conventional” wheat shows my support for pesticides and fertilizers in someone else’s drinking water.

Everything matters. Everything connects. What I buy and eat matters for me and you and the whole world.

Change Your Food, Change the World!

  1. AMEN!! I have had a veeeery hard time finding cruelty-free organically grown meat/eggs (while I am a vegetarian I would eat meat if I could find any that was humanely raised and handled) but whenever I do, I make sure to buy enough that the farmer I buy it from can stay in business for another month 😉 haha!

  2. Very persuasive arguments. If I were not already a vegetarian, this would probably convince me. I do eat
    cheese, although, since I do have the grace to feel guilty about it, it probably means my cheese-eating
    days a numbered.

    • Thanks for coming by and commenting!
      Please be careful in deciding about cheese since getting vitamin B12 for a Vegan is very difficult. Dairy cows that are grazed in pastures and handled humanely are doing what cows were meant to do.
      You eating dairy products from this type of farm is not harming the animal or the world, in my opinion.

Join the Conversation!

