doctorfoodtruth

Loves to Learn

In Mindless Eating on June 4, 2011 at 12:21 pm
Amazon Cardboard Boxes on doctorfoodtruth

Everybody loves a smile

Friends and family can tell you, I’m kind of a nerd.  I love reading and learning and always seem to have another book order from Amazon on the way.  Sometimes philosophy, sometimes fiction, other times history, theology, science, or medicine.

Wednesday, I got a box with the smile on it and found something I had ordered but forgotten: Mindless Eating.  As I’ve said, Brian Wansink has been my favorite food shrink for three or four years now.  He’s done so many research studies that it seems I can always find another to amuse and amaze myself with.  I stumbled across his book somewhere, added it to my Amazon cart, and forgot it.

Later that night, I sat down with his book and some Knob Creek on the rocks.  Very cool stuff in there, let me tell you! (The book, not the tumbler.)  He is an amazing writer, able to turn dry science stuff into genuinely entertaining stories.  I won’t venture into content just yet, though you can count on many future posts inspired  by Mindless Eating.

Finding someone who is already great at doing what I dream of doing is exciting.  Dr. Wansink has made a passionate career of studying diet habits, food psychology, and weight gain/loss.  He writes, speaks, and consults all over the country.  Sounds good to me!  Food Truths, Food Lies, my first attempt at food and diet education, has really given me the bug for more writing and teaching.

Finding new ways to help people wake up and make a change has always excited me.  I’m finding out that getting to write and speak on these topics gives me an even bigger spark.  Look out, world!

Eat Healthfully, Live Fully Healthy!

  1. I will have to read. I’m nerdy to:) Mystery, health ,historical fiction and biographies are my fav’s

  2. It’s always so awesome to find someone who is passionate & successful doing what you want to do! 🙂

    I’ve still got to order your book. One day I’m going to build myself a library haha — I’ve always got a book or two or three coming too. My husband doesn’t even get excited for packages anymore — they’re always for me 😉

Join the Conversation!

