doctorfoodtruth

Healthy? KIND of…

In Food and Health, Gluten-free, Junk Food on May 27, 2011 at 12:06 pm
doctorfoodtruth picture of KIND bars

my KIND bar stash

For the last 2 years I’ve been on the lookout for good-tasting, convenient and healthful gluten-free snacks and dishes.  As you might guess, this is a mission prone to frustration.  I often have to settle for a Meatloaf-type solution: “Two out of three ain’t bad.”

When I found KIND bars at Starbucks, I thought I had struck gold.  Gluten-free, ‘earth friendly’, made from fruit and nuts, convenient – what’s not to love?  By now I’ve got my favorite flavor – KIND Cranberry Almond – on Amazon quick order, since they’re quite a bit cheaper in bulk.  I’ve tried all the varieties my local Starbucks and Whole Foods stocks and settled on a couple standbys to keep in my desk for my brown-bag days.

So I was excited to see a new flavor a few days ago while browsing the gluten-free section at Whole Foods and bought a half-box in my fervor.  “Wow, these are great!  I should’ve bought the whole box,” I thought after my first bite.  Then my reflex label-reading kicked in (3 days too late!) and I reconsidered my “wow.”

“Wow, that’s a lot of sugar!”  14 grams of a total 40 gram bar?  Excessive.

“Wow, when did they start using all these chemicals?”  Soy Lecithin and Palm Kernel Oil aren’t exactly good for you.

Fooducate (great iPhone app) gives it a ‘B-‘ grade because of the sugar content though it didn’t object to the saturated fat content from the Palm oil like I do.

I guess it is a little too much to hope that every product a company brings out is as healthy as their others.  No more brand following for me – back to strict label reading.  “Let the buyer beware” holds true, every time.

Eat Healthfully, Live Fully Healthy!

  1. I know I love this flavor I break it up add to my Greek yogurt. When I looked it up on Fooducate I was surprised about the sugar. I guess I have to keep reading the labels;)

    • Good call with the Greek yogurt – maybe that is so good for you it kinda balances out the bad of the sugar? Unfortunately those sugar calories count no matter how well they hide in ‘healthy’ food…

  2. OUCH! I try to stay away from bars in general because of their tendency towards sugar & fat content, but I have had a couple of Kind bars (during clinicals when I need something that can come along in my pocket with me) — that is a LOT of sugar!! Yikes.

    • Hey no criticism from this direction! I used to live off what I could carry in my pockets for a 12-16 hour day. Course, that was back in the day that Clif bars were the only option – man I hate those things now!

Join the Conversation!

