doctorfoodtruth

Three Cheers for Coffee!

In Diet and Weight, Mindful Eating on May 17, 2011 at 1:01 pm
French Press coffee

French Press and coffee

Ah, coffee.  No matter what my stress level, the thought of French press Sumatra can bring a smile to my face.  Fragrant, full of flavor and my stimulant of choice, caffeine, coffee has been in the news quite a bit lately.

Coffee has long been linked to lowering your chances of getting colon cancer and protecting your liver; now it is being praised as an anti-oxidant, a brain-power boost and may even protect against brain diseases like Alzheimer’s.

Wait, wait.  Before you run back to Starbuck’s for a second round today, hear me out.  It is actually the coffee that’s good for you, not the other stuff that gets mixed in.  I get my beat-up old mug refilled with the bold brew of the day, black, most mornings after I leave the hospital.  The people in line before me?  Well, I’ve heard “Seven pump Venti Carmel Macchiato with extra whip” and “Triple Shot, no whip, Grande vanilla Latte” and plenty of other combos.  What I haven’t heard is the Baristas giving their totals in calories, though I think they should.

“That’ll be 420 calories for the Macchiato and 260 for the Latte please.”  Think that would get the attention of my fellow Starbucksians?  My order has zero calories and the Macchiato drinker just used 1/3 of her daily calories on a drink that she probably thinks had none at all.

Add in the healthy-sounding 8-Grain Roll or Apple Bran Muffin and there’s another 350 calories gone.  Here is one of the places hidden, uncounted calories can jump up and bite us, and the only solution is to count it and be mindful of what we order, eat, and drink.

Eat Healthfully, Live Fully Healthy!

  1. And that is why I stick to regular coffee with only a little bit of half & half…

    • absolutely the way to do it – excellent choice – too bad Starbucks doesn’t post calories yet, maybe will get people’s attention and more will start having your drink or mine.

Join the Conversation!

