doctorfoodtruth

The Munchies

In Diet and Weight, Junk Food, Mindful Eating on May 7, 2011 at 12:41 pm

No, not that kind of munchies!  I mean the kind you may never have even noticed, the munchies we automatically use to fend off tiredness.

I first noticed this when I was an intern. ( The word “Intern” is Latin or Greek for “kept up 500 hours straight to see how much you can take” or something like that.)  I could always count on being hungrier those afternoons I hadn’t been able to sleep the night before.  In fact, my hunger level and snacking frequency matched my degree of sleep deprivation perfectly.

tempting and terrible food choices

I always joked that I could replace sleep with food and it did keep me going when I didn’t think I could.  Now there is a scientific study that shows just how much getting enough sleep helps with weight loss.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21448129

The authors conclude: “Results suggest that clinicians and investigators might consider targeting sleep, depression and stress as part of a behavioral weight loss intervention.”

Translation: Don’t just tell people to eat less, help them by reinforcing good sleep habits, stress management and depression treatment.  This goes along with what any Family Doctor will tell you.  You can’t fix just a piece of a human.  Everything connects and being and feeling well requires working on physical, emotional, dietary, spiritual, and mental health.

Join the Conversation!

