doctorfoodtruth

Food Diary

In Diet and Weight, Food Diary, Mindful Eating on May 6, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Keeping a food diary is a huge step towards weight loss.  There is a recent study by The Center for Health Research that showed that using a food diary regularly can actually double your weight loss.  This means simply writing down what you eat can make you lose weight faster!

I’ve used the Food Diary challenge with my patients for years.  Almost daily I talk to someone frustrated by their weight and completely convinced that they “don’t eat that much.”  I gently tell them it can’t work that way.  Trees grow given only light, air, and water but humans don’t.  We only grow if given calories, which is why I can be so certain of this. To be honest, though, the only people who ever really believe me are the folks who take my challenge.

“I know you don’t believe me, but I’ve done a lot of research on this.  If you take my challenge, I promise we’ll find the calories.  If you bring me 2 weeks of your Food Diary, we can find and fix this.”

It sounds hard – but it isn’t.  It sounds dangerous – and it is.  You risk finding the anchor that’s been around your neck, dragging you down.  You risk changing your life.  You risk feeling well again.

Any takers?

Join the Conversation!

