doctorfoodtruth

Count It

In Diet and Weight, Food Diary, Mindful Eating on May 4, 2011 at 12:19 pm

She looked a little defiant, really.  Jill (not her real name) had told me about doing the Food Diary I recommend in my book and had just gotten a big smile and an Attagirl! from me.  We had seen each other 3 or 4 weeks before but I could already tell something was different.  The scale said she had lost 8 pounds – impressive. 

She glowed at my praise.  I thrive on the little day-to-day victories and I meant every word.  “I am so impressed!  You look great, I can already see the changes.  How did you do it?”

She had been logging everything she ate for about 3 weeks, she said.  Everything.

food diary

“I was surprised at how much I ate – I never thought I overate but my Food Diary showed me how I had been.  Not anymore.”  That’s when the little look of defiance came.  “I still have chocolate, you know.”  She waited, maybe worried about my reaction.

“Ok,” I said.  I try to make it clear in my book and in what I teach – everything is legal, so I have no objection to chocolate and enjoy it myself.

“But I write it down.  I count it!”  You should have seen her smile!

Jill has found the secret and she has started winning.  I think she’s going to keep winning, too.  Every calorie counts, so you have to count every calorie.  It’s that simple.  Really.

  1. […] Count It (doctorfoodtruth.wordpress.com) […] Good related post

  2. […] Count It (doctorfoodtruth.wordpress.com) […]

Join the Conversation!

